My week in film: “Saturday Night Fever” and “Stayin’ Alive: A Grammy Salute to the Music of the Bee Gee’s” – April 21

This week I watched CBS’s salute to the music of the Bee Gee’s. After watching so many popular artists recreate the magic associated with these iconic songs, I had to rewatch the classic “Saturday Night Fever.” Later in the week, I also rented the disaster of a movie, “Shut In” and enjoyed the ’90s vibes from “Practical Magic.”

Rewind and Rewatch:

“Saturday Night Fever” (1977):

This film is entertaining and very easy to laugh at, but there were so many moments where I felt uncomfortable. The racism and sexism present in this film reflect the contemporary context it was created in. The songs are the best part and John Travolta’s tiny hips dancing around on the dance floor are entertaining, but I have no plans to rewatch this film anytime in the future. The only reason I did revisit this film was because of the “Stayin’ Alive: A Grammy Salute to the Music of the Bee Gee’s,” which aired on Sunday evening on CBS. The tribute special was fun to watch and I felt overwhelmed by the amount of love everyone shares for the Bee Gee’s. I enjoyed watching the various musicians bring the iconic songs to the stage. My favorite performances were Demi Lovato’s rendition of “If I Can’t Have You” and Tori Kelly’s version of “Tragedy.”

Under the Tuscan Sun” (2003): 

I also rewatch “Under the Tuscan Sun,” which has become my go-to for when I want to just have something on in the background. The film is warm and welcoming and puts a smile on my face each time I rewatch. Plus, living in Italy sounds like a dream.

-Now on Netflix:

“Practical Magic” (1992):

I had never seen this fully before the other night. What started as a interesting portrayal of modern magic turned very quickly into a strange horror film and then switched to a quirky romantic comedy. I don’t think this film knew exactly what it was, but I enjoyed it for the most part.

-Redbox Rental // Not so hot:

“Shut In” (2016):

After a tragic accident, a child psychologist’s (Naomi Watts) stepson is left bedridden and completely dependent. A patient disappears around Watt’s home/practice and Watt’s begins to believe his ghost is haunting her house.

naomiwatts1-2.jpg

Courtesy: EuropaCorp

This film was slow and honestly, very boring. There is a strange twist but it’s impact collapses instantly. Naomi Watts tries so hard to keep the film above water, her performance is the best part of the entire project. I enjoy psychological thrillers, but this is a waste of time – even for a dollar rental.

Leave a Reply

