My week in film: “Ghost in the Shell” March 31

This week I rewatched the anime “Ghost in the Shell” before seeing the new, live-action and highly controversial version in theaters. Later in the post, I share my thoughts and excitement for the newly released teaser trailer for “It.” Plus, I finally got the chance to rent “The Edge of Seventeen.” 

At the movies:

“Ghost in the Shell” (2017)

“In the near future, Major (Scarlett Johansson) is the first of her kind: A human saved from a terrible crash, who is cyber-enhanced to be a perfect soldier devoted to stopping the world’s most dangerous criminals. When terrorism reaches a new level that includes the ability to hack into people’s minds and control them, Major is uniquely qualified to stop it. As she prepares to face a new enemy, Major discovers that she has been lied to: her life was not saved, it was stolen. She will stop at nothing to recover her past, find out who did this to her and stop them before they do it to others. Based on the internationally acclaimed Japanese Manga, “The Ghost in the Shell.”” – Rotten Tomatoes

Overall, I don’t have too much to say about the film itself. It was visually interesting but at the end of it didn’t leave any lasting impressions on me. It’s a consumable blockbuster that is ulitamtely unmemorable.

However, just because I don’t have very much to say, that doesn’t mean everyone else feels the same. I’ve provided a few links to YouTuber’s that have reviewed the film.

 

Rewind and Rewatch:

“Ghost in the Shell” (1995)

I went into my first screening of this anime without knowing any of the major plot details and remember being blown away by the complex storyline and issues it raises. Essentially, I believe this film to be all about identity and the recognition of the “self.” Rewatching the anime version before going into a screening of the live-action version may have set my standards too high, but I still stand behind the original 1995 “Ghost in the Shell.”

“Leap Year” (2010)

360_leap_year_0106.jpg

Courtesy: Universal Pictures

Completely predictable and slightly flat, the film is still enjoyable to watch if you have absolutely nothing else to do.

“Shutter Island” (2010)

This psychological thriller is one of my absolute favorite films. I recently finished reading the book by Dennis Lehane and immediately chose to rewatch the film. IMDb describes the film’s plot as, “In 1954, a U.S. marshal investigates the disappearance of a murderess who escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane.” But, there is so much more than this. Every scene the story develops further and further and then unravels altogether. Martin Scorsese is a master of his craft, the suspense and drama is so well visualized in this thriller that it demands to be rewatched countless of times.

Now on Netflix:

“Pete’s Dragon” (2016)

I enjoyed it, for the most part. However, it lost my interest as the plot developed. Perhaps this is due to my own age and the fact I am not emotionally attached to the original, but I was left with the impression of it just being an average film with yet another CGI character.

petesdragon.jpg

Courtest: Walt Disney Pictures

 

-Redbox Rental:

“The Edge of Seventeen” (2016)

Brutally honest in its depiction of teenage life. I enjoyed the awkwardness, the angst and the vulnerability the main character possessed. The script comes across as smart, candid and often witty, but still authentic enough to depict an honest coming-of-age story. My main praise, this is not your average and quirky “teen-movie”, instead this is a heartfelt film about a teen. We need more of these.

Here’s the trailer in case you missed it.

-Teasing with a trailer:

“It” (2017)

Check out the new trailer for “It”

I’m a huge horror fan, it’s my favorite genre because it plays with so many different conventions and rules. So, I have very high hopes for this new adaptation of Stephen King’s It. So far, I think the film is following a good direction. Nothing will ever beat Tim Curry’s performance, but I’m keeping an open mind. After the trailer was released I headed over to Sound Exchange to browse the horror section.

My favorite genre bc it's just so much fun. Also new trailer for IT came out today and I have high hopes 🎈

A post shared by Ashley Steinbach (@ashsteinbach) on

My thoughts: I am actually a fan of Pennywise’s new look, plus I think it was really smart of the editors to not have him speak in the teaser trailer. A slow introduction is best, that way the audience is left wanting more and more as each new trailer releases. Revealing too much spoils the fun of the film. Also, the scene when the kids are watching the slideshow of pictures is really unsettling. It reminded me a lot of Sinister with a mix of The Conjuring 2.

Here’s a quick review of the teaser.

 

Did you like “Ghost in the Shell”? What are you thoughts on the new “It” trailer?

 

Leave a Reply

