My week in film: “Beauty and The Beast” (Again) – March 24

Well technically I went to the theater this weekend, but I didn’t see something new. Instead, I decided to see “Beauty and the Beast” for a second time! I fell into the Disney spell and revisited Cinderella and I also enjoyed rewatching my favorite episodes of “The Office” on Netflix.

At the movies:

I still stand by my thoughts I expressed in my last post about this film. “Beauty and the Beast” (2017) is still a treat to watch but ultimately falls a bit short when compared to the original, animated version. One thing I did pick up on this most recent screening was that I enjoyed Dan Steven’s performance while singing “Evermore.” As the song begins, Steven’s voice sounds deep and beastly and then as the song continues he sounds more and more human. I liked this quality because it portrays the Beast’s journey back to being a man. The song and his feelings for Belle are centering him and pointing him in the right direction toward gaining back his true identity. I thought this was very subtle but really well done and very thematic.

Rewind and Rewatch:

Cinderella” (2015): This fast paced spectacle feels dreamy but also very centered as it emphasizes the power of kindness. Ella’s dress is also so beautiful and honestly puts Belle’s to shame.

Now on Netflix:

The Office” has always been a go-to for me when it comes to Netflix. It never disappoints and always puts a smile on my face. I recently watched the episode when Andy is in a “Sweeney Todd” production so I’m sure that film will creep into next week’s media highlight post.

Thanks for reading! What’s your favorite episode from “The Office”? Or what’s your go-to Netflix choice?

Leave a Reply

